The most common celiac disease symptoms are way too easy to miss

Foods that contain gluten and those that don’t

The good news: Fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free! The same is true for beef, chicken, lamb, pork, fish and dairy products. It’s best to talk to your health care provider for help to determine what you can and cannot eat. This is not a complete list and there are many gluten-free options available for many foods (pasta, soups, etc.), but below is a sample of foods that contain gluten:

  • Wheat (in all forms)
  • Rye (in all forms)
  • Barley (in all forms)
  • Breading and coating mixes
  • Processed lunch meats
  • Soup bases
  • Imitation bacon and seafood
  • Marinades, sauces and gravies
  • Pasta

Many foods on the market now state if they are gluten-free. This is very helpful, but if isn’t indicated on the label and you don’t know whether a certain product contains gluten, leave it on the shelf.

More: The celiac disease and infertility connection

Some foods that do not contain gluten:

  • Rice
  • Corn
  • Soy
  • Potatoes
  • Beans
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Buckwheat
  • Distilled alcoholic drinks and vinegar

Celiac disease is one condition where you hold the key to better health. The more you know, the better. Consult the following resources on celiac disease: Celiac Disease Foundation, National Institutes of Health, American Celiac Disease Alliance.

Updated by Bethany Ramos on 5/16/2016

Comments

Comments are closed.