Can your diet lead to inner peace?

If the battle of the bulge – or simply trying to eat healthy – has you at your wit’s end, would you try a diet that guarantees permanent weight loss and pure bliss? Of course you would! The Inner Peace Diet is a unique mind, body, belly and soul program that focuses on balancing your energy points – or chakras – through healthy, whole foods and mind and body exercises. At first glance, you may dismiss the book as too New Agey (what the heck are chakras, anyway?), but as you page through the seven-week program, you’ll find not only easy-to-understand descriptions of chakras but also practical food lists and many quick to fix recipes. Keep reading to learn more about this innovative – fad-free – diet plan.

Inner Peace DietWhat is a chakra?

The Inner Peace Diet, written by Aileen McCabe Maucher, registered nurse and nationally recognized licensed mental health expert, and professional chef Hugo Maucher, is based on the age-old wisdom of the chakra system that, according to the authors, is the focus of yoga as well as the center for Ayurveda.

Your body has seven energy points, or chakras, which represent a spectrum of vibrating electrical energy through which you process life experiences and emotions. Ideally, all seven of your chakras, which span from your pelvis to your head, should emit the same amount of energy, and result in a balance of emotional and physical health.

The seven chakras (from lowest to highest):

  • Root chakra
  • Sacral chakra
  • Solar plexus chakra
  • Heart chakra
  • Throat chakra
  • Third-eye chakra
  • Crown chakra

The lowest chakra corresponds to fundamental survival needs and each successive chakra relates to higher level needs such communication and spirituality. When chakras are out of balance or blocked, your mind and body can suffer. Maucher and Maucher write, “The most common symptom of unbalanced and blocked chakras are weight gain and obesity.”

Eating for inner peace

The Inner Peace Diet is organized into eight chapters, each focusing on one chakra, with the final chapter centered on combining healthy foods to maintain a healthy lifestyle and weight. Here is a brief look at eating for chakra health.

Root chakra

Associated with the color red and the adrenal glands, the root chakra corresponds to your fundamental survival needs, such as food and shelter and your ability to feel safe and secure in the world.

To feel grounded and connected to your body, in the first week of The Inner Peace Diet, incorporate more fresh fruits and vegetables, primarily those that are red, as well as lean proteins, such as nuts, seeds, and lean meats. Also, eliminate processed foods, opting for foods that are alive and whole.

(Click for how to stay radiant with red fruits and vegetables)

Sacral chakra

Represented by the color orange, located in the uterus, this chakra reflects a person’s ability to seek pleasure in life. Known as the seat of creation, the sacral chakra is related to sexuality and conception and is closely associated with the element of water.

In the second week, focus on increasing your water intake to 10 (8-ounce) glasses of water per day as well as incorporating more orange-hued fruits and vegetables into your diet.

(Click for the importance of orange fruits and vegetables)

Solar Plexus Chakra

Representing the concepts of identity and self-esteem, the third chakra is located near the lower ribs and is associated with the color yellow. The solar plexus chakra controls motivation, ambition and power.

This week’s goal is to gain a clear sense of purpose, break free or procrastination, and incorporate more yellow fruits and vegetables into your meals.

(Click for yellow fruits and vegetables)

Heart chakra

Physically associated with the chest – and represented by the color green – the heart chakra reflects your ability to give and receive love and compassion.

To stimulate your heart center and thwart emotional eating, focus on the color green in your food choices as well as your clothing or gemstones.

(Click for the health benefits of green fruits and vegetables)

Throat chakra

Represented by the color blue, the throat chakra reflects your ability to connect with yourself and others in a deep and satisfying way. When in balance, you can speak the truth and feel free to express yourself as well as listen to and hear others.

To support your fifth chakra, consume foods that contain blue pigments (and wear blue, too). Seafood and honey will also stimulate your throat chakra.

(Click for the importance of blue foods)

Third-eye chakra

The sixth chakra is associated with intuitive and physical sight and vision. Located between your eyebrows and reflected by the color purple, a balanced chakra improves your ability to trust in your own inner wisdom and intuitive powers.

To tune in and drop the unhealthy avoidance and denial patterns, focus on purple-hued fruits and vegetables.

(Click for the nutritional power of purple fruits and vegetables)

Crown chakra

The seventh chakra represents spiritual enlightenment and union with the sacred and all living things. Located at the top of the head, the crown chakra is associated with the colors white and violet.

To help you create an enhanced sense of spiritual consciousness and fulfill your life’s destiny, in this seventh week, focus your diet on consuming healthy white foods, such as cauliflower, garlic, parsnips, shallots, turnips, bananas and mushrooms.

In addition to eating for inner peace…

Consuming a healthy chakra-balancing diet is only one part of The Inner Peace Diet plan. In addition to recipes for meals and snacks, every chapter also includes exercises that promote emotional and physical healing, such as yoga, journaling, meditating and more. You can’t have one without the other – the emotional and physical exercises reinforce new healthy eating behaviors and nurture a lifestyle of healthy habits.

If previous diet plans have failed you, stressed you out, or even hurt your health, and you want a guide to a healthier lifestyle (sans fad-diet), The Inner Peace Diet is a practical, educational and effective mind-body option.

Keep reading

Top 30 diet tips
The single best way to lose weight
How not to gain weight


Comments are closed.