The 7 chakras and how they contribute to your health

Objects, living cells, plants and people all possess physical energy otherwise known as an aura (or energetic body). Just as someone can sense when you are in a bad mood or should not be approached, your body can pick up stress and emotions from those that surround you.

tWe are highly sensitive beings who hold a larger energetic body than physical body. The energetic body is made up of seven chakras.

tWhat are chakras?

t Chakras are energetic centers of the body that range from your sacrum all the way up to your head. There are seven (main) energy centers recognized commonly as the areas that harness the body’s energy (known as the Kundalini).

t Why are the chakras so important?

t Chakras pick up energy and stress that can be stored in these locations. Since the chakras are directly linked to the endocrine system, an energetic or stress buildup can create a blockage. If it is not released, the blockage can lead to dehydration, illness or disease. In order to maintain optimal health and energy, all of the chakras must be balanced.

t What do chakras do?

t Yoga theories state that a new chakra opens every seven years, for a seven-year interval. Thus, expanding our consciousness and creating more self awareness. With our current knowledge of yoga, kundalini and breath work, we are easily able to access and open other chakras earlier than previously determined, allowing us to obtain self awareness and enlightenment younger than ever.

Photo credit: Wavebreakmedia Ltd/Wavebreak Media / 360/Getty Images

t Below is a list of the chakras, their locations and emotions associated with them.

1. Root

tLocation: base of spine

tEndocrine Gland: sexual organs

tSense: smell

tEmotions: survival issues (finance, independence, money, food, basic needs)

tElement: earth

tColor: red

2. Sacral

t Location: lower abdomen

t Endocrine Gland: adrenals

t Sense: taste

t Emotions: abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality, creativity

t Element: water

t Color: orange

3. Solar plexus

t Location: stomach

t Endocrine Gland: pancreas

t Sense: sight

t Emotions: self-worth, self-esteem, confidence

t Element: fire

t Color: yellow

4. Heart

t Location: center of the chest

t Endocrine Gland: thymus

t Sense: touch

t Emotions: love, peace, joy

t Element: air

t Color: green

5. Throat

t Location: throat

t Endocrine Gland: thyroid

t Sense: hearing

t Emotions: communication, feelings

t Element: ether

t Color: blue

6. Third eye

t Location: forehead

t Endocrine Gland: pituitary

t Sense: extra-sensory perception

t Emotions: wisdom, intuition

t Element: spirit

t Color: indigo

7. Crown

t Location: top of head

t Endocrine Gland: pineal

t Sense: all senses

t Emotion: spirituality

t Element: spirit

t Color: violet


Comments are closed.