Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

13 Things Vegans Can’t Eat (Even Though They Seem Totally Fine)

If you struggle to even flirt with the idea of giving up cheese and eggs, you should know that’s only the very beginning for vegans. It’s not just the obvious meat and dairy products vegans have to turn up their nose to, it’s also a whole list of candies, nuts, juices and even beer and wine.

What!? I know. Apparently, there are tons of hidden animal products in foods like these that, on the surface, seem totally animal-friendly. That’s the challenge of living a plant-based lifestyle: you’ve got to know the ins and outs of these undercover animal products.

So before you throw your vegan friend a party and assume the lollipops are safe, check out these store-bought items vegans try to avoid and why.

1. Some sugar

Image: bchiku/iStock/360/Getty Images

White sugar gets its color from a refining process that often involves the use of bone char, meaning even though it’s not directly an animal product, it’s not vegan. But don’t opt for brown sugar, powdered sugar or even raw sugar. All of them are made from refined white sugar. Some sugar manufacturers are certified vegan, so check the company’s website or PETA to find out. Or just opt instead for maple syrup or agave nectar as a sweetener.

2. Jell-O, marshmallows, gummy bears, etc.

Image: bhofack2/iStock/360/Getty Images

These sweet treats are typically made with gelatin, which is made from collagen that comes from animal byproducts. You should avoid any product made with gelatin. That said, a quick internet search will reveal vegan versions of these and many other gelatin-containing foods. If you’re making something from scratch, try substituting an equal amount of agar-agar.

More: 20 Vegan Caramel Recipes That Are Decadent & Wholesome — Yes, Both

3. Other candies

Image: Tamelyn Feinstein/Moment/Getty Images

While we’re on the subject of sweets, be careful of candies in general. That shiny coating comes from a resin excreted by a bug (the lac bug). Of course, “lac bug juice” would gross out even non-vegans, so they usually just call it “confectioner’s glaze.”

4. Red foods

red candy
Image: Robert Daly/OJO Images/Getty Images

How ’bout them fake red apple candies? There’s nothing wrong with the red things Mother Nature makes, but most red candies and a lot of red foods in general get their color from red pigments from a female cochineal insect. On the label, it will say “cochineal,” “carminic acid” or “carmine.”

5. Soy cheese

soy cheese
Image: Alasdair Thomson/E+/Getty Images

That can’t be true, right? Actually, it can. We can’t explain the decision of some manufacturers to add casein (milk protein) to a product most likely to be purchased by vegans, but it happens. Check the label before you buy.

6. Sauces and dressings

salad dressings
Image: svetlana foote/iStock/360/Getty Images

Worcestershire sauce, in addition to many others, contains anchovy. The same is true of many salad dressings, like Caesar. And it goes without saying that cream-based dressings should be avoided unless they’re specifically vegan. These are just the obvious ones, though. There are so many flavors out there, you should always check the label and know what every single ingredient is.

7. Peanuts

Image: This is the best temple in mumbai suborn,/Moment/Getty Images

Unless you crack the nuts yourself, skip the packaged, shelled peanuts. Some brands may use gelatin as an additive.

Next up: Chips

A version of this article was originally published in November 2013.

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.