Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Catch the Independent Spirit Awards red carpet live on SheKnows!

Oscar, shmoscar. Some of the coolest movies out there are being celebrated on Saturday night at the Independent Spirit Awards — and SheKnows is live streaming the red carpet just for you!

SheKnows joins Renwood Winery in bringing the Independent Spirit Awards to the web this year. Renwood is sponsoring red-carpet coverage of the event with Secrets of the Red Carpet, hosted by Hollywood style maker Luke Reichle. The red carpet will be aired on Live Stream Live via and streamed on Renwood’s website at

Hosted by the hilarious Andy Samberg, the Independent Spirit Awards celebrate the artistic vision of independent filmmakers and strives to expose the best of the year to a wider audience. You might recognize some titles and names on the list of nominees, but many are sure to be new gems to fill up your must-see list.

2013 Independent Spirit Award nominees

Best Feature
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Keep the Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director
Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet
Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Actor
Jack Black, Bernie
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes, The Sessions
Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On
Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce, Four

Best Actress
Linda Cardellini, Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed

Best Supporting Actor
Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere
Michael Peña, End of Watch
Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom

Best Supporting Actress
Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister
Ann Dowd, Compliance
Helen Hunt, The Sessions
Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere

Best Screenplay
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature
Fill the Void
Gimme the Loot
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Safety Not Guaranteed
Sound of My Voice

Best First Screenplay
Rashida Jones and Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever
Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void
Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby
Christopher Ford, Robot and Frank
Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Best Documentary
The Central Park Five
How to Survive a Plague
The Invisible War
Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present
The Waiting Room

Best Foreign Film
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia
Rust and Bone
War Witch

Best Cinematography
Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch
Lol Crawley, Here
Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom
Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints

Best International Film
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia
Rust and Bone
War Witch

John Cassavetes Award
Breakfast With Curtis
The Color Wheel
Middle of Nowhere
Mosquita y Mari

Robert Altman Award

Truer Than Fiction Award
Only the Young
The Waiting Room

Someone to Watch Award
Rebecca Thomas, Electrick Children
Adam Leon, Gimme the Loot
David Finker, Pincus

Producers’ Award
Nobody Walks
Prince Avalanche
Stones in the Sun

The live stream starts at 10:30 a.m. PT on the red carpet. The awards will be televised at IFC Channel at 10 p.m. PT/ET.

Image courtesy FayesVision/

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.