Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

2013 WGA nominations filled with pleasant surprises

The Writers Guild Awards honor the best scripts Hollywood has to offer. The WGA shines a light on the town’s unsung heroes: screenwriters. Friday, they unveiled the lucky nominees for this year’s ceremony.

Rian Johnson Looper

Friday, the Writers Guild of America announced their nominees for the 2013 Writers Guild Awards. Some of their choices were expected (Lincoln, Zero Dark Thirty), while others were a welcome surprise.

Among the nominees for original screenplay is Rian Johnson’s Looper. The drama is a long shot for the Oscars, but the WGA hasn’t forgotten about it. Its story blends horror, sc-fi and even anime into one cohesive film.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a time-traveling Bruce Willis >>

There’s also “the little engine that could” — The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It earned a nod in the best adapted screenplay category. The charming film, based on the novel of the same name, was one of the best-reviewed movies of 2012.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower movie review: A boy blossoms >>

Here’s the full list of WGA nominees:

Original Screenplay

  • Flight, written by John Gatins
  • Looper, written by Rian Johnson
  • The Master, written by Paul Thomas Anderson
  • Moonrise Kingdom, written by Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
  • Zero Dark Thirty, written by Mark Boal

Adapted Screenplay

  • Argo, screenplay by Chris Terrio; Based on a selection from The Master of Disguise by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired magazine article “The Great Escape” by Joshuah Bearman
  • Life of Pi, screenplay by David Magee; based on the novel by Yann Martel
  • Lincoln, screenplay by Tony Kushner; based in part on the book Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower, screenplay by Stephen Chbosky; based on his book
  • Silver Linings Playbook, screenplay by David O. Russell; based on the novel by Matthew Quick

Documentary Screenplay

  • The Central Park Five, written by Sarah Burns, David McMahon and Ken Burns
  • The Invisible War, written by Kirby Dick
  • Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God, written by Alex Gibney
  • Searching for Sugar Man, written by Malik Bendejelloul
  • We Are Legion: The Story of the Hacktivists, written by Brian Knappenberger
  • West of Memphis, written by Amy Berg and Billy McMillin

The winners will be announced Feb. 17.

What movie are you rooting for?

Photo credit: WENN

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.