Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

2013 Spirit Award nominations see the silver lining

Tuesday, the nominees for the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards were revealed. David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook is just one of two films to pull the most nominations.

Silver Linings Playbook

The Independent Spirit Awards have announced their nominees for next year’s ceremony. Leading the charge is David O. Russell and Wes Anderson‘s 2012 films Silver Linings Playbook and Moonrise Kingdom. Both movies scored five nominations including Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Feature.

They’ll have stiff competition from critical darlings like Beasts of the Southern Wild, Seven Psychopaths, Bernie and even Magic Mike. For the actors, Matthew McConaughey is pulling double duty as he’s earned two nominations for Mike and Killer Joe. He’ll be one to beat.

Here are the nominees for the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature: 

  • Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Bernie
  • Keep the Lights On
  • Moonrise Kingdom
  • Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director:

  • Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
  • Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet
  • David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
  • Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Screenplay:

  • Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom
  • Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
  • Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths
  • David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

Best First Feature:

  • Fill the Void
  • Gimme the Loot
  • Safety Not Guaranteed
  • Sound of My Voice
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best First Screenplay:

  • Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void
  • Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed
  • Christopher Ford, Robot & Frank
  • Rashida Jones and Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever
  • Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby

John Cassavetes Award — (for features under $500,000):

  • Breakfast with Curtis
  • Middle of Nowhere
  • Mosquita y Mari
  • Starlet
  • The Color Wheel

Best Female Lead:

  • Linda Cardellini, Return
  • Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere
  • Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Quvenzhane Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed

Best Male Lead:

  • Jack Black, Bernie
  • Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
  • John Hawkes, The Sessions
  • Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On
  • Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe
  • Wendell Pierce, Four

Best Supporting Female:

  • Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister
  • Ann Dowd, Compliance
  • Helen Hunt, The Sessions
  • Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice
  • Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere

Best Supporting Male:

  • Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
  • David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere
  • Michael Pena, End of Watch
  • Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths
  • Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom

Best Cinematography:

  • Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints
  • Lol Crawley, Here
  • Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch
  • Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

Best Documentary:

  • How to Survive a Plague
  • Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present
  • The Central Park Five
  • The Invisible War
  • The Waiting Room

Best International Film:

  • Amour (France)
  • Once Upon A Time in Anatolia (Turkey)
  • Rust And Bone (France/Belgium)
  • Sister (Switzerland)
  • War Witch (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Piaget Producers Award:

  • Nobody Walks, Alicia Van Couvering
  • Prince Avalanche, Derrick Tseng
  • Stones in the Sun, Mynette Louie

Someone To Watch Award:

  • Pincus, director David Finker
  • Gimme the Loot, director Adam Leon
  • Electrick Children, director Rebecca Thomas

Truer Than Fiction Award (given to emerging documentary filmmaker):

  • Leviathan, directors Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel
  • The Waiting Room, director Peter Nicks
  • Only the Young, directors Jason Tippet and Elizabeth Mims

Robert Altman Award (for ensemble cast):

  • Starlet
  • Director: Sean Baker
  • Casting Director: Julia Kim
  • Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone

Winners for the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards will be announced Saturday, Feb. 23.

What do you think of this year’s nominees?

Photo credit: FayesVision/WENN

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.