Midnight in Paris wins Writers Guild Award

Feb 20, 2012 at 5:25 p.m. ET

Woody Allen finally won Best Original Screenplay at last night's Writers Guild Awards. See who else scored top honors and who has their eyes on the Oscar.

The Writers Guild Award for best original screenplay honored Woody Allen last night for Midnight in Paris, the independent film that captured Owen Wilson's adventures wandering through literary history and Paris in the middle of the night.

'Midnight in Paris' wins WGA for Best Original Screenplay

Midnight in Paris won one of the night's top honors against the scripts for 50/50, Bridesmaids, Win Win and Young Adult. The other big award for best adapted screenplay was awarded to Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash for The Descendants, starring George Clooney and beating out Brad Pitt's Moneyball, Hugo, The Help and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

The awards ceremony was held at the Hollywood Palladium last night and was co-hosted by New Girl actress Zooey Deschanel and Community's Joel McHale.

"Hi, and welcome to nerd prom," joked Deschanel. "Male writers: You are all hot because of your mind."

"Enough," said McHale to cut her off. "You had them at eye contact."

Are the Writers Guild Awards predictive of which films will take the lead at the Academy Awards on Sunday? Maybe Midnight in Paris will win the Oscar; Woody Allen has been nominated in the best original screenplay category 11 times but hasn't taken home the coveted statue since 1987 for Hannah and Her Sisters.

Top honors in the television categories were awarded to Modern Family, Homeland and Breaking Bad. Head to The Hollywood Reporter for the complete list of last night's winners.

Image credit: WENN.com

More Academy Awards news

Leonardo DiCaprio turns his back on Titanic
George Clooney claims no Oscar rivalry with "buddy" Brad Pitt
Billy Crystal delivers laughs in 2012 Oscars trailer