Hasty Pudding girl: Claire Danes honored by Harvard comics

She may have gone to Yale, but this week Claire Danes will be crowned Harvard’s Hasty Pudding Theatricals’ Woman of the Year.

Homeland star Claire Danes is getting her “just desserts.”

Harvard’s Hasty Pudding Theatricals has found its 2012 Woman of the Year in the Yale graduate, who nabbed her third Golden Globe Award earlier this month.

Hasty Pudding Theatricals is the oldest undergraduate drama troupe in the nation. The Pudding has been handing out Woman and Man of the Year Awards since 1951. Each year, the legendary award is given to a pair of entertainers — one male, one female — who have made a “lasting and impressive contribution to the world of entertainment.”

This year, it’s Claire’s turn.

“The Pudding is proud to honor such an accomplished actress, who has challenged herself with a wide range of critically acclaimed roles spanning television, film and theater, ” read an announcement posted on the site of the famed student theater society last Friday.

Showtime snags Homeland for a second season >>

Danes will lead a parade through the streets of Cambridge on Jan. 26. But not before accepting her Pudding Pot and delivering the customary side-splitting Hasty Pudding Address at Farkas Hall.

The star recently picked up a Golden Globe Award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series — Drama for her role as Carrie Mathison on Showtime’s terrorism drama Homeland. The series was also honored with the prize for Best Television Series — Drama.

The victory marked Danes’s second Golden Globe win in a row. The actress received a gong for Temple Grandin at last year’s Globes ceremony.

Claire won her first Golden Globe in 1995, thanks to her role in the short-lived ABC teen drama My So-Called Life.

Other lucky ladies given the Hasty Pudding honor in recent years include Charlize Theron, Scarlett Johansson, Julia Roberts, Jessica Biel, Anne Hathaway and last year’s recipient, Julianne Moore.

Hasty Pudding Theatricals’ Man of the Year Event is scheduled for the first week of February. Keep your ears open, that honoree will be announced next week.

Any suggestions?

Photo credits: Ian Wilson/WENN.com


Comments are closed.