Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Harry Potter franchise to receive BAFTA

The Harry Potter franchise is about to get a BAFTA award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema. Really? It doesn’t have one yet? Insane! We’ll give you the details.

The Harry Potter franchise has spanned over a decade. An entire generation of children sat in fevered hope of a letter from Hogwarts on their eleventh birthday. The films based on them have pulled in $6.4 million worldwide.

Harry Potter cast

How is it that the franchise is only now receiving an award from the British Academy of Film and Television Arts for “Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema?”

BAFTA said in a statement: “The Harry Potter films have not only created stars in front of the camera, but have also highlighted the expertise within the British craft and technical industries, supporting a vast array of jobs throughout production.” No franchise could be more deserving. The award will be presented to author J.K. Rowling and series producer David Heyman at the main BAFTA ceremony in London on February 13.

BAFTA is Britain’s equivalent of the Oscars and this particular award was created in 1978. The winner that year was the visual effects team behind Superman.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, the final film in the series, is due out on July 15, 2011.

Read on for more Harry Potter:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 review
Harry Potter star swine flu report
Michelle Obama and the girls visit the Deathly Hallows set

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.