Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Independent Spirit Awards nominations

Matt Dillon and Taraji P. Henson announced the Film Independent Spirit Awards nominations last night, bestowing Precious and The Last Station with five noms each! The Messenger, with four noms in its pocket, could still take the final tally at the big 25th anniversary awards show in March.

The Spirit Awards honor films that are 70 minutes long that boast budgets under $20 million and screenings at a major film festival like Sundance or Toronto. In the best feature category,
Precious and The Last Station go up against 500 Days of Summer, Amreeka and Sin Nombre.


Precious, the Oprah Winfrey and Tyler Perry-hyped film about an abused, illiterate pregnant teen struggling to
survive ’80s Harlem, picked up a Lead Actress nom for breakout star Gabourey Sidibe, a Supporting Female nom for Mo’Nique, a Best Director nom for Lee Daniels and a Best First Screenplay nom for
Geoffrey Fletcher.

The Last Station, a Leo Tolstoy biopic, also earned noms for best director and best screenplay for Michael Hoffman, Best Female lead for Helen Mirren and Best Supporting Male Lead for
Christopher Plummer.

With mixed reviews since its release, A Serious Man didn’t land major nods, but Joel and Ethan Coen did walk away with a nom for Best Director and the film is also up for the Robert Altman
Award and Best Cinematography.

The John Cassavetes Award most represents the “spirit” of these awards, as it honors the best feature made for under $500,000. This year’s nominees include Humpday, Big Fan, The New Year
Parade, Treeless Mountain
and Zero Bridge.

There’s been chatter about The Hurt Locker not making the list after winning two Gotham Awards last night, but the Iraq war drama was in last year’s round of noms, so simply wasn’t
eligible this year.

The Spirit Awards usually kicks off the Academy’s night with a big blow out the night before the Oscars, but this year, in honor of Spirit’s 25th anniversary, it will air live on the Independent
Film Channel on March 5, two days before the Oscars.

Check out the full list of noms:

2010 Spirit Award nominations:


(500) Days Of Summer – Producers: Mason Novick, Jessica Tuchinsky, Mark Waters, Steven J Wolfe

Amreeka – Producers: Paul Barkin, Christina Piovesan

Precious – Producers: Lee Daniels, Gary Magness, Sarah Siegel-Magness

Sin Nombre – Producer: Amy Kaufman

The Last Station – Producers: Bonnie Arnold, Chris Curling, Jens Meuer


Ethan Coen, Joel Coen – A Serious Man

Lee Daniels – Precious

Cary Joji Fukunaga – Sin Nombre

James Gray – Two Lovers

Michael Hoffman – The Last Station


Alessandro Camon, Oren Moverman – The Messenger

Michael Hoffman – The Last Station

Lee Toland Krieger – The Vicious Kind

Greg Mottola – Adventureland

Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber – (500) Days Of Summer


A Single Man – Director: Tom Ford; Producers: Tom Ford, Andrew Miano, Robert Salerno, Chris Weitz

Crazy Heart – Director: Scott Cooper; Producers: T Bone Burnett, Judy Cairo, Rob Carliner, Scott Cooper, Robert Duvall Easier With Practice – Director: Kyle Patrick Alvarez;
Producer: Cookie Carosella

Paranormal Activity Director: Oren Peli; Producer: Jason Blum, Oren Peli

The Messenger – Director: Oren Moverman; Producers: Mark Gordon, Lawrence Inglee, Zach Miller

500 Days of Summer


Sophie Barthes – Cold Souls

Scott Cooper – Crazy Heart

Cherien Dabis – Amreeka

Geoffrey Fletcher – Precious

Tom Ford, David Scearce – A Single Man

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000.

Big Fan – Writer/Director: Robert Siegel; Producers: Elan Bogarin, Jean Kouremetis

Humpday – Writer/Director/Producer: Lynn Shelton

The New Year Parade – Writer/Director: Tom Quinn; Producers: Steve Beal, Tom Quinn

Treeless Mountain – Writer/Director: So Yong Kim; Producers: Bradley Rust Gray, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim, Lars Knudsen, Jay Van Hoy

Zero Bridge – Writer/Director: Tariq Tapa; Producers: Josee Lajoie, Hilal Ahmed Langoo, Tariq Tapa


Maria Bello – Downloading Nancy

Nisreen Faour – Amreeka

Helen Mirren – The Last Station

Gwyneth Paltrow – Two Lovers

Gabourey Sidibe – Precious


Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart

Colin Firth – A Single Man

Joseph Gordon-Levitt – (500) Days Of Summer

Souléymane Sy Savané – Goodbye Solo

Adam Scott – The Vicious Kind


Dina Korzun – Cold Souls

Mo’Nique – Precious

Samantha Morton – The Messenger

Natalie Press – Fifty Dead Men Walking

Mia Wasikowska – That Evening Sun


Jemaine Clement – Gentlemen Broncos

Woody Harrelson – The Messenger

Christian McKay – Me and Orson Welles

Raymond McKinnon – That Evening Sun

Christopher Plummer – The Last Station


Roger Deakins – A Serious Man

Adriano Goldman – Sin Nombre

Anne Misawa – Treeless Mountain

Andrij Parekh – Cold Souls

Peter Zeitlinger – Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans


Anvil! The Story of Anvil – Director: Sacha Gervasi

Food, Inc. – Director: Robert Kenner

More Than A Game – Director: Kristopher Belman

October Country – Directors: Donal Mosher, Michael Palmieri

Which Way Home – Director: Rebecca Cammisa


A Prophet – (France) Director: Jacques Audiard

An Education – (UK/France) Director: Lone Scherfig

Everlasting Moments – (Sweden) Director: Jan Troell

Mother – (South Korea) Director: Bong Joon-Ho

The Maid – (Chile) Director: Sebastián Silva


Kyle Patrick Alvarez – Easier With Practice

Asiel Norton – Redland

Tariq Tapa – Zero Bridge


Natalia Almada – El General

Jessica Oreck – Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo

Bill Ross, Turner Ross – 45365


Karin Chien – The Exploding Girl, Santa Mesa

Larry Fessenden – I Sell the Dead, The House of the Devil

Dia Sokol – Beeswax, Nights & Weekends

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

A Serious Man

Directors: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

Casting Directors: Ellen Chenoweth, Rachel Tenner

Ensemble Cast: Richard Kind, Sari Lennick, Jessica McManus, Fred Melamed, Michael Stuhlbarg, Aaron Wolff

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.