Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Dancing With the Stars Crowns Its Season 28 Champs & Announces Tour Details

There’s a new Mirrorball Trophy-holder in town! On Monday night, Dancing With the Stars named its Season 28 champions: Bachelorette Hannah Brown and her partner, Alan Bersten. During a nail-biting finale, the reality TV star managed to edged out three other couples to dance her way to Mirrorball glory. Bonus? DWTS also announced details about its upcoming tour.

Coming into Monday night’s dynamic finale, only four dancing teams remained: country singer Lauren Alaina and pro partner Gleb Savchenko, actor/comedian Kel Mitchell and pro partner Witney Carson, pop star Ally Brooke, and pro partner Sasha Farber and, of course, Brown and Bersten. Each set of dancers performed two dances, which were then scored by votes from viewers and judges (weighted equally). Ultimately, Alaina and Gleb took fourth place, Brooke and Farber third and Mitchell and Carson second. When co-hosts Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews revealed Brown and Bersten had won, the new champs were hoisted onto shoulders and carried off the dance floor.

After being crowned, Brown said an uncharacteristic calmness had settled over her before the finale. “I’ve always been so nervous before I perform. It’s probably been one of the biggest struggles I’ve had. Letting those fears get into the way of the dance,” she shared. “But going into tonight’s performance, I felt all that dissipate.”

Also during the finale, the Dancing With the Stars 2020 Tour was announced, complete with dates, cities, and cast. According to DWTS‘ website, “The show will feature the professional dancers in a brand-new production showcasing every type of dance style ranging from Tango to Foxtrot, Cha-Cha to Waltz — and everything in between. Audiences will have the opportunity to experience the excitement, glamour, and glitz they see in the ballroom every Monday live on stage in their hometown.”

So far, Carson, Savchenko, Farber, Bersten, Lindsay Arnold, Valentin Chmerkovskiy, Jenna Johnson, Emma Slater, Brandon Armstrong, Pasha Pashkov and Daniella Karagach have all been confirmed for the tour cast on the pro dancer side. On the celebrity side, Erin Andrews announced during the finale that the 2020 tour will include new champ Hannah Brown, Kate Flannery, Sailor Brinkley-Cook, Mitchell, Brooke, and Alaina.

The show will kick off on Jan. 9, 2020 in Richmond, Virginia, and will run through early spring, ending in Portland, Oregon. In total, the DWTS Live Tour 2020 will hit 69 cities for a total of 80 tour dates. You can find a complete list of locations and dates here.

Leave a Comment