Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Ivor Novello Awards: Ed Sheeran wins Songwriter of the Year

Ed Sheeran is on a roll this year — after winning Best Male Solo Artist and Album of the Year at the BRIT Awards he’s picked up the prize for Songwriter of the Year at the 60th Ivor Novello Awards.

Other winners included Clean Bandit, winning the Performing Rights Society Award for Most Performed Work and Best Contemporary Song for “Rather Be,” and Hozier, whose hit “Take Me to Church” was awarded Best Song Musically and Lyrically.

Annie Lennox, Boy George and Manic Street Preachers were amongst the artists to win special recognition awards.

More: 2015 Billboard Music Awards winners

The full list of winners for the 60th Anniversary Ivor Novello Awards: 

Best Song Musically and Lyrically Hozier: “Take Me To Church” (Written by Andrew Hozier-Byrne)

Also nominated: Bear’s Den: “Above The Clouds Of Pompeii” (Written by Andrew Davie); Ben Howard: “I Forget Where We Were” (Written by Ben Howard)

Best Contemporary Song Clean Bandit featuring Jess Glynne: “Rather Be” (Written by James Napier and Jack Patterson)

Also nominated: “Every Other Freckle” (Written by Thomas Green, Joe Newman and Gus Unger-Hamilton); FKA twigs: “Two Weeks” (Written by Tahliah Debrett Barnett and Emile Haynie)

Album Award Bombay Bicycle Club: So Long, See You Tomorrow (Written by Jack Steadman)

Also nominated: Wild Beasts: Present Tense (Written by Thomas Fleming, Ben Little, Christopher Talbot and Hayden Thorpe); Royal Blood: Royal Blood (Written by Michael Kerr and Ben Thatcher)

PRS for Music Award Most Performed Work Clean Bandit featuring Jess Glynne: “Rather Be” (Written by James Napier and Jack Patterson)

Also nominated: George Ezra: “Budapest” (Written by George Ezra Barnett and Joel Pott); Sam Smith: “Stay With Me” (Written by James Napier, William Phillips and Sam Smith)

Best Television Soundtrack The Honourable Woman (Composed by Natalie Holt and Martin Phipps)

Also nominated: The Mill — Series 2 (Composed by Samuel Sim); The Suspicions of Mr Whicher — Beyond the Pale (Composed by Edmund Butt)

Best Original Film Score ’71 (Composed by David Holmes)

Also nominated: Mr. Turner (Composed by Gary Yershon); The Boxtrolls (Composed by Dario Marianelli)

Songwriter of the Year Ed Sheeran

Lifetime Achievement Geezer Butler, Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osbourne and Bill Ward (Black Sabbath)

The Ivors Classical Music Award Judith Weir

Inspiration Award James Dean Bradfield, Sean Moore and Nicky Wire (Manic Street Preachers)

PRS for Music Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Music Boy George

Outstanding Song Collection Albert Hammond

PRS for Music Special International Award Paul Williams

The Ivors Special Anniversary Award Bob Geldof and Midge Ure

British Academy of Songwriters Composers and Authors Fellowship Annie Lennox

More music

Miley Cyrus’ new video is the most confusing thing we’ve seen all day (VIDEO)
T in the Park will go ahead at Strathallan Castle despite nesting ospreys
Debbie Gibson explains why Taylor Swift would have had challenges in the ’80s

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.