Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Hayao Miyazaki to be one of 2014 Honorary Oscars recipients

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has finally announced the recipients for its 2014 Honorary Oscars on Friday.

The Honorary Oscar statues will be presented on Nov. 8 at the 6th Annual Governors Awards ceremony at Hollywood & Highland. The Governors Awards “honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy,” the Academy states.

Hollywood’s humanitarians: How Jordana Brewster “Paws It Forward” for National Pet Month >>

The board voted on Tuesday and this year’s results acknowledge a particularly diverse group including French screenwriter Jean-Claude Carrière, who shared an Oscar with Pierre Étaix for the short film Heureux Anniversaire (Happy Anniversary) in 1962, Japanese animator Hayao Miyazaki, who is known as the Walt Disney of Japan and won an Oscar in 2003 for his film Spirited Away, and Irish screen siren Maureen O’Hara, who starred in The Hunchback of Notre Dame among many other films.

Hollywood’s humanitarians: Jesse Tyler Ferguson teams up to fight hunger >>

Other recipients include social activist Harry Belafonte, who will be awarded the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, which is awarded to “an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.” The same award went to Angelina Jolie last year for her humanitarian efforts.

“The Governors Awards allow us to reflect upon not the year in film, but the achievements of a lifetime,” said Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs. “We’re absolutely thrilled to honor these outstanding members of our global filmmaking community and look forward to celebrating with them in November.”

Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s Governors Awards.

Leave a Comment