Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Late-night hosts added as presenters for Emmy Awards

The 66th Emmy Awards look set to be even more upbeat and quirky, as several late-night hosts have been announced as additional presenters for the event.

Host Seth Meyers has promised that the annual event, which honors the best in the television industry, will be upbeat and fun, and that certainly looks to be a possibility. Why? Because Meyers announced on Tuesday morning via Twitter that several of his late-night friends will be joining him at the event.

What the Creative Arts Emmys winners tell us about the Primetime Emmys >>

Stephen Colbert, Jimmy Fallon and Jimmy Kimmel will also take to the stage at this year’s awards telecast.

Stephen Colbert has already walked away with an Emmy Award for his show, The Colbert Report, and Jimmy Fallon was just recently awarded a Creative Arts Emmy for Outstanding Guest Actor In A Comedy Series for hosting Saturday Night Live.

And we can be sure that Meyers will do a great job heading up the show.

“Seth’s expertise and ease in front of a live audience during his time at SNL, as well as his comedic brilliance both as a writer and in front of the camera on SNL and Late Night, makes him the perfect choice to host the Emmys,” NBC executive, Paul Telegdy, previously said in a statement. “Plus, with Don’s [Mischer] vast experience at putting these type of big productions together, we’ll be in great hands.”

The funnymen will get to test their jokes on a new crowd at the Los Angeles Nokia Theatre during the Emmy Awards ceremony, which will be televised live on NBC on Aug. 25.

Taylor Swift, Jimmy Fallon get nerdy for Ew! skit (VIDEO) >>

The comedians will join previously announced presenters, Halle Berry, Bryan Cranston, Viola Davis, Zooey Deschanel, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Woody Harrelson, Allison Janney, Keegan-Michael Key, Adam Levine, Lucy Liu, Julianna Margulies, Matthew McConaughey, Debra Messing, Jim Parsons, Jordan Peele, Amy Poehler, Julia Roberts, Andy Samberg, Octavia Spencer, Gwen Stefani, Sofia Vergara and Kerry Washington.

We cannot wait for the show!

Update Aug. 21, 2014: The list of presenters has been finalized and now includes Uzo Aduba, Scott Bakula, Ricky Gervais, Chris Hardwick, Lena Headey, Katherine Heigl, Mindy Kaling, Joe Morton, John Mulaney, Hayden Panettiere, Liev Schreiber, Kate Walsh and Allison Williams in addition to presenters previously announced.

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.