Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Star Wars gets the Marvel treatment with three new comics

Coming on the heels of a busy Comic-Con, the Star Wars franchise has some great news to announce. Lucasfilm and Marvel Entertainment are joining forces again to release three new comic book titles in 2015.

Fans can expect to see Star Wars, Darth Vader and Princess Leia beginning in Jan. 2015. The stories will take place immediately after the events of Star Wars: A New Hope.

Family Guy heads to Springfield to meet The Simpsons >>

In the flagship series, readers will experience the immediate days after the destruction of the first Death Star in Star Wars.

Writer Jason Aaron told, “Every story is about the characters, and we’ll focus on all the old favorites. There will be big moments for everyone, from Han to R2-D2. But a major part of the narrative will be driven by Luke Skywalker and his journey of discovery, a journey that will decide the fate of the entire galaxy.”

Darth Vader will be released in Feb. 2015 with the return of the Imperial Forces of the Galactic Empire. Writer Kieron Gillen plans to take a psychological look at the evil villain.

Orphan Black‘s Tatiana Maslany brought to tears by fan >>

He said, “Vader’s the sole survivor of the greatest military disaster in history — and a disaster that he definitely had a hand in by letting the rebels escape with the plans for the Death Star. This is not a thing which leaves you in anybody’s good books, let alone the Emperor’s. The great thing about this period [between Star Wars: A New Hope and Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back] is what we don’t see on the screen. Vader learns who Luke Skywalker is at some point between the two movies, to choose but one example.”

In March, the five-issue limited series, Princess Leia, debuts. She must face the fact that her home is destroyed, but she tackles the setback to become one of the Alliance’s greatest leaders.

“Does she choose to be a Princess of nothing — or does she set out to rebuild her heritage and civilization?” says writer Mark Waid.

Fans will be able to answer all of those questions beginning in 2015 in a galaxy far, far away.

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.