Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

Producers Guild nominates American Hustle, a Wolf and more

The Producers Guild is a tough group to please. This year, they snubbed some notable titles with their PGA nominations. Find out who did and didn’t make the list.

American Hustle

The Oscar race is winding down as we get closer to nominations. But before the Academy reveals their picks, the Producers Guild has their say. Thursday, the nominees for the 2014 Producers Guild Awards were announced. Traditionally, they’re seen as indicators as to what films will make it to the final Oscar ballots.

2014 Golden Globe nominations: Who made the cut? >>

This year, the PGA selected Oscar frontrunners like American Hustle and The Wolf of Wall Street but left some films out in the cold. For example, the Coen Brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis is nowhere to be found. The same for the all-star ensemble August: Osage County and Lee Daniels’ The Butler.

 2014 Spirit Award nominees full of Oscar hopefuls >>

Here are the PGA nominees:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • American Hustle (Columbia Pictures), Producers: Megan Ellison, Jonathan Gordon, Charles Roven, Richard Suckle
  • Blue Jasmine (Sony Pictures Classics), Producers: Letty Aronson, Stephen Tenenbaum
  • Captain Phillips (Columbia Pictures), Producers: Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca, Scott Rudin
  • Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features), Producers: Robbie Brenner, Rachel Winter
  • Gravity (Warner Bros. Pictures), Producers: Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman
  • Her (Warner Bros. Pictures), Producers: Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze, Vincent Landay
  • Nebraska (Paramount Pictures), Producers: Albert Berger, Ron Yerxa
  • Saving Mr. Banks (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures), Producers: Ian Collie, Alison Owen, Philip Steuer
  • 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures), Producers: Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt and Dede Gardner
  • Wolf of Wall Street (Paramount Pictures), Producers: Riza Aziz, Emma Koskoff, Joey McFarland

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • The Croods (DreamWorks Animation), Producers: Kristine Belson, Jane Hartwell
  • Despicable Me 2 (Universal Pictures), Producers: Janet Healy, Christopher Meledandri
  • Epic (Twentieth Century Fox), Producers: Jerry Davis, Lori Forte
  • Frozen (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures), Producer: Peter Del Vecho
  • Monsters University (Pixar Animation), Producer: Kori Rae

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • A Place At The Table (Magnolia Pictures), Producers: Julie Goldman, Ryan Harrington, Kristi Jacobson, Lori Silverbush
  • Far Out Isn’t Enough: The Tomi Ungerer Story (First Run Features), Producers: Brad Bernstein, Rick Cikowski
  • Life According To Sam (HBO Documentary Films), Producers: Andrea Nix Fine, Sean Fine, Miriam Weintraub
  • We Steal Secrets: The Story Of WikiLeaks (Focus Features), Producers: Alexis Bloom, Alex Gibney, Marc Shmuger
  • Which Way Is The Front Line From Here? The Life And Time Of Tim Hetherington (HBO Documentary Films), Producers: James Brabazon, Nick Quested

What do you think of this year’s film nominees?

Photo credit: Francois Duhamel/Annapurna Productions LLC/Sony Pictures

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.