Skip to main content Skip to header navigation

2013 Fantastic Fest’s big award winners

Fantastic Fest honors the best genre films around. It has released the winners from this year’s coveted submissions.

Robin Wright It’s been a great year for horror, sci-fi and fantasy. At 2013’s Fantastic Fest, they were bombarded with a solid crop of features and shorts. Despite the overwhelming talent, they had to breakdown who would receive individual honors for the Fantastic Fest Awards.

Keanu Reeves brings Tai Chi to 2013 Fantastic Fest >>

Robin Wright may have missed out on an Emmy (for House of Cards), but Fantastic Fest loves her. She scored a win for Best Actress, thanks to her performance in The Congress. The film dominated the Fantastic Features category also picking up Best Director and Best Screenplay.

Toronto International Film Festival: Oscar-worthy movies to watch >>

Check out the full list of winners below:

Audience Award (Presented by Maxwell Locke & Ritter)

  • Jodorowsky’s Dune (director Frank Pavich)

“Next Wave” Spotlight Competition Presented by Dell Precision

  • Best Picture: The Dirties (director Matt Johnson)
  • Best Director: Oren Carmi (Goldberg and Eisenberg)
  • Best Screenplay: James Byrkit (Coherence)
  • Best Actor: Yorick van Wageningen (The Resurrection Of A Bastard)
  • Best Actress: Swantje Kohlhof (Nothing Bad Can Happen)

Fantastic Features

  • Best Picture: The Congress (director Ari Folman)
  • Best Director: David Perrault (Our Heroes Died Tonight)
  • Best Screenplay: Ari Folman (The Congress)
  • Best Actor: Svein André Hofsø Myhre (Detective Downs)
  • Best Actress: Robin Wright (The Congress)

Horror Features

  • Best Picture: Afflicted (directors Derek Lee and Clif Prowse)
  • Best Screenplay: Derek Lee and Clif Prowse (Afflicted)
  • Best Director: Derek Lee and Clif Prowse (Afflicted)
  • Best Actor: Jason David Brown (Septic Man)
  • Best Actress: Julia Garner (We Are What We Are)

Gutbuster Comedy Features

  • Best Picture: Why Don’t You Play In Hell? (director Sion Sono)
  • Best Director: Sion Sono (Why Don’t You Play In Hell?)
  • Best Screenplay: Kankurô Kudô (Maruyama The Middle Schooler)
  • Best Actor: Fuku Suzuki (Kid’s Police)
  • Best Actress: Qi Shu (Journey To the West: Conquering The Demon)

Documentary Features

  • Best Picture: Jodorowsky’s Dune (director Frank Pavich)
  • Best Director: Shaul Schwarz (Narco Cultura)

Short Fuse: Horror Shorts

  • Winner: Remember Me (director Jean-François Asselin)
  • Runner-up: Perfect Drug (director Toon Aerts)

Fantastic Shorts

  • Winner: Beasts In The Real World (director Sol Friedman)
  • Runner-up: My Pain Is Worse Than Your Pain (director Adam Hall)

Drawn and Quartered: Animated Shorts

  • Winner: The Sad House (director Sofia Catalina Carrillo Ramírez)
  • Runner-up: Kick-Heart (director Masaaki Yuasa)

Fantastic Arcade

  • Best In Show: Samurai Gunn (developed by Technopants)

What do you think of this year’s winners?

Photo credit: Lia Toby/

Leave a Comment

Comments are closed.