RED HOT BOOK OF THE WEEK: W is for Wasted by Sue Grafton

W is for Wasted is the 23rd entry in Sue Grafton’s New York Times best-selling Kinsey Millhone mystery series, and it could just be her best yet. This riveting mystery that keeps you guessing until the very last page is our pick for Red Hot Book of the Week.

About the Kinsey Millhone mysteries series

Whether you’ve been reading Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone mysteries series since the first book, A is for Alibi (written in 1982), or if you are just beginning now with W is for Wasted (Sept. 17, 2013), you will fall in love and become, dare we say, obsessed. What might be most intriguing about this series is that — even though Grafton has written about the quirky and lovable Kinsey Millhone in 23 books to date — with each new novel, the reader learns new things about her. Note: If you are just joining in or if you don’t recall everything you read in the last novel, V is for Vengeance, Grafton brings you up to speed quickly in the beginning of this book.

Mysteries to make your Thanksgiving cozy >>

W is for Wasted by Sue GraftonAbout W is for Wasted

W is for Wasted tells the story of two men who drastically affect Kinsey Millhone’s life.

“Two dead men changed the course of my life that fall. One of them I knew and the other I’d never laid eyes on until I saw him in the morgue.”

The first man was a local private investigator who was gunned down in what appears to have been a robbery gone wrong. The second man, found six weeks later, is thought to have died of natural causes. It is speculated that he was probably homeless, and he had no identification. But there was a piece of paper in his pocket with Millhone’s name and number. The coroner requests that she come to the morgue to ID him.

Must-read cozy books for the fall >>

As Kinsey digs deeper into the mystery of the John Doe, she discovers some strange connections between him and the local PI. And before long, Kinsey literally finds the key to his identity. Kinsey refers to it as “the lid to Pandora’s box” flying open.

10 September must-reads: Nicholas Sparks, Sue Grafton & more >>

This book is thought to be one of the most multilayered tales in the series because on the surface, things appear one way, but beneath, Kinsey discovers betrayal, misunderstandings and fraud. And Kinsey, through no fault of her own, is thoroughly compromised.

As the book’s description says: “W is for… wanderer… worthless… wronged… W is for Wasted.”

This gripping murder mystery is so thrilling that the characters practically jump off the page, and you will be left guessing up until the very end.


Comments are closed.