Start writing
Share this Story
List View
On
Off

10 Holiday foods you'd be surprised vegans can't eat

Justina Huddleston is an editor and the head writer for TDmonthly Magazine. She has been a freelance writer for several years, though her real passion is cooking. You can see the recipes she creates on her vegan food blog, A Life of Litt...

#1/21:

Holiday dishes and treats vegans can't eat

#1/21:

Holiday dishes and treats vegans can't eat

These classic holiday dishes are surprisingly not vegan — but luckily they can be.

#3/21:

Vegan sweet potato casserole

#3/21:

Vegan sweet potato casserole

Try this streusel-topped vegan sweet potato casserole instead.

#4/21:

Royal icing

#4/21:

Royal icing

Spectacular holiday cookies decorated with royal icing contain meringue powder made of dried egg whites. 

#5/21:

Vegan icing with aquafaba

#5/21:

Vegan icing with aquafaba

A vegan icing made from powdered sugar and aquafaba (chickpea brine) will work just like the real thing.

#6/21:

Stuffing or dressing

#6/21:

Stuffing or dressing

Cozy stuffing seems like just bread and veggies, but it's usually made with poultry stock, butter and eggs.

#7/21:

Yummy vegan stuffing

#7/21:

Yummy vegan stuffing

Luckily it's super easy to make a totally delicious vegan stuffing.

#8/21:

Mincemeat

#8/21:

Mincemeat

Mincemeat pies scream Christmas but often contain suet and even chunks of meat.

#9/21:

Vegan mincemeat

#9/21:

Vegan mincemeat

#10/21:

Tamales

#10/21:

Tamales

Tamales are truly amazing, but even those filled with veggies often have dough made with lard.

#11/21:

Vegan tamales

#11/21:

Vegan tamales

You can still enjoy hearty tamales — just swap the lard for vegan shortening, margarine or oil.

#12/21:

Candy canes

#12/21:

Candy canes

Commerical candy canes are a favorite, but some can contain carmine, a dye made from beetles.

#13/21:

DIY vegan candy canes

#13/21:

DIY vegan candy canes

Make your own! Use vegan sugar and food coloring, and enjoy the minty sweet fruit of your labor.

#14/21:

Crackers

#14/21:

Crackers

From butter to whey to cheese, crispy crackers often contain non-vegan ingredients.

#15/21:

Vegan olive oil crackers

#15/21:

Vegan olive oil crackers

All you really need for totally vegan crackers is flour, olive oil and seasoning.

#16/21:

Irish cream liqueur

#16/21:

Irish cream liqueur

Unlike other booze that use artificial flavoring, Irish cream liqueur, like Baileys, actually contains dairy.

#17/21:

Vegan Irish cream

#17/21:

Vegan Irish cream

You don't have to miss out on the luxurious taste of Irish cream liqueur thanks to this vegan recipe.

#18/21:

Hot chocolate mix

#18/21:

Hot chocolate mix

Even if you don't add it to a mug of warm milk, dry hot cocoa mix often contains powdered milk.

#19/21:

Vegan hot chocolate mix

#19/21:

Vegan hot chocolate mix

Nix the powdered milk, and opt for this simple but still decadent vegan cocoa mix instead.

#20/21:

Salted caramels

#20/21:

Salted caramels

Chewy caramels flaked with salt are an essential holiday sweet — but are usually made with cream and butter.

#21/21:

Vegan caramels

#21/21:

Vegan caramels

Thank goodness for coconut milk — it makes these vegan caramels just as creamy-delicious as the originals.

Close

And you'll see personalized content just for you whenever you click the My Feed .

SheKnows is making some changes!

b h e a r d !

Welcome to the new SheKnows Community,

where you can share your stories, ideas

and CONNECT with millions of women.

Get Started