The food during Hanukkah is delicious. And there’s something special about digging into a platter of fried foods and having it be meaningful, a symbol for the oil that burned for eight days or cheese to represent the Book of Judith apocryphal. What these foods don’t tend to be is vegan, which can be problematic for those that celebrate who also want to avoid animal products. Butter. Cheese. Meats. But fear not. We’ve got some options for you.
Whether you’re hosting this year and want to include some vegan-friendly options or you’re a vegan who wants to be able to eat something at dinner, these recipes should help you out. Or if you just want to try something new, we’ve got enough twists on the latke to satisfy basically every taste bud. There’s nothing quite like a “cheese”-filled blintz or a fresh jelly doughnut, and these recipes mean vegans can join in on the festivities too.
A version of this article was originally published in December 2015.