What would you like to know?
Share this Story

Gluten-free grains

As a vegan, your diet relies on plant-based foods, including grains. If you've got celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity, here are the gluten-free grains you can safely put on your vegan menu.

If you are one of the 1 in 133 Americans with celiac disease or part of the growing population that has gluten-sensitivities, knowing which whole grains are gluten-free is essential for your health. In addition, knowing there are many gluten-free grains is a great way to inspire your culinary creativity. As a vegan, your diet is based on plant foods, including whole grains, which can be daunting if you have to avoid gluten.  Rest assured, however, that the tasty array of gluten-free grains will give you and your famiy a wide variety of delicious, nutritious gluten-free vegan meals.
If you are one of the 1 in 133 Americans with celiac disease or part of the growing population that has gluten-sensitivities, knowing which whole grains are gluten-free is essential for your health. In addition, knowing there are many gluten-free grains is a great way to inspire your culinary creativity. As a vegan, your diet is based on plant foods, including whole grains, which can be daunting if you have to avoid gluten.  Rest assured, however, that the tasty array of gluten-free grains will give you and your famiy a wide variety of delicious, nutritious gluten-free vegan meals.

Gluten-free grains

Amaranth

Amaranth is a popular ancient grain that can be cooked as a vegan side dish. Amaranth flour can also be used as a gluten-free substitute for wheat flour in baked goods. (Because amaranth doesn't have gluten, rely on recipes specific for amaranth until you get a feel for baking with amaranth flour.)

Buckwheat

Despite it's name, buckwheat is not related to wheat. In fact, it isn't even technically a grain. However, it can be cooked like a grain. Buckwheat comes in groats and flour forms and is also available as soba noodles.

Corn

Popular straight off the cob, corn is also a versatile grain in the form of cornmeal. You can find it in fine, medium, or coarse grind, and is often referred to as grits and polenta.

Millet

Not just for the birds, millet cooks up quick and can be served as a vegan side dish or used to stuff vegetables.

Oats

Though some brands of oats may be contaminated with wheat, you can find pure oats from Bob's Red Mill. Oats are a perfect vegan breakfast, oat bran can be sprinkled on vegan salads, and oat groats can be served as a vegan side dish.

Quinoa

My favorite gluten-free grain, quinoa is rich in protein, cooks up in 10 to 15 minutes, and can be prepared as breakfast, lunch, dinner, and even dessert.

Rice

The wide variety of types of rice make this gluten-free grain a go-to for any vegan that loves rice-based meals but doesn't want to eat the same kind of rice every day. Try wild rice, Bhutanese red rice, black japonica rice, and rice blends to give your usual vegan meals a new look and taste.

Teff

A lesser known gluten-free grain, teff is a fast cooking, iron- and calcium-rich grain that can be eaten as a hot cereal or a vegan side dish.

Gluten-free vegan recipes and tips!
Recommended for You
Comments
Hot
New in Food & Recipes
Close

And you'll see personalized content just for you whenever you click the My Feed .

SheKnows is making some changes!