Before you dive into candy bar abandon, make sure the candy you're eating is animal-free. According to the Vegan Nutritionista, the most common animal-derived products to avoid are "gelatin (made from animal bones and tendons), milkfat, eggs, carmine (or Natural Red 4, made from beetles), rennet (enzyme from cow stomachs), pepsin (another stomach enzyme), lard (pig fat), E 904, E 120, 901, 904, 542 (all are from animals), or even just sugar that is processed with charred bone fragments." This means reading labels before you take a bite.
If it's your kids who are hankering for a sweet, turn them on to PETAKids.com. In addition to a tasty list of vegan candies, the site also has interactive games, celebrity and music news, and a cruelty-free shop with kid-friendly jewelry, attire, books, and more.
And you'll see personalized content just for you whenever you click the My Feed .
SheKnows is making some changes!