Share this Story

Geeky Food: Gelatin facts every Jell-O lover needs to know (VIDEO)

Karen Miner is the Food & Home Editor for SheKnows. She is a freelance writer, recipe developer and is also the cook, author and photographer behind the food blog, Tasty Trials, a collection of original recipes and stories. She and her h...

Learn all about gelatin — how it's made, how it's used and more fun facts

You might think of gelatin only as that colorful jiggly treat you had as a kid, but there's more to it than that.

And I know what you're thinking, but yes, there's also more to gelatin than your favorite adults-only way to consume it: Jell-O shots. (Just in case you're in need of a gorgeous recipe, though, I happen to have one to recommend.)

Learn all about gelatin — how it's made, how it's used and more fun facts

But back to your gelatin education...

There's a lot to learn about this magical ingredient responsible for the sponginess of marshmallows and the chewiness of gummy bears. There's even a nutritional benefit (which is a definite bonus if you're knocking back too many Jell-O shots) and plenty of gelatin substitutes available for kosher and vegan diets. Because spoiler alert: Gelatin is not vegan.

See? There's a whole lot about gelatin you probably didn't know. Watch the video to get the full scoop.

Subscribe to SheKnows EATS on Youtube

More Geeky Food

Everything you ever wanted to know about yeast (VIDEO)
10 Sushi facts you probably didn't know (VIDEO)
Surprising tofu facts you probably didn't know (VIDEO)

New in Food & Recipes

And you'll see personalized content just for you whenever you click the My Feed .

SheKnows is making some changes!

b h e a r d !

Welcome to the new SheKnows Community,

where you can share your stories, ideas

and CONNECT with millions of women.

Get Started