Share this Story

Beware: Domino's "gluten-free" pizza isn't GF

If you're a gluten-free vegetarian who loves pizza or a vegan with non-veg friends who are hungry for gluten-free pizza offerings, be advised that Domino's "gluten-free" pizza really isn't GF.

If you're a gluten-free vegetarian who loves pizza or a vegan with non-veg friends who are hungry for gluten-free pizza offerings, be advised that Domino's "gluten-free" pizza really isn't GF.
If you're a gluten-free vegetarian who loves pizza or a vegan with non-veg friends who are hungry for gluten-free pizza offerings, be advised that Domino's "gluten-free" pizza really isn't GF.

Domino's gluten-free pizza isn't pure

Earlier this month, Domino's rolled out a gluten-free pizza crust made from rice flour, rice starch and potato starch. It can technically be called gluten-free because it does not contain wheat, rye or barley, but the pizza chain can't claim that the new GF dough is safe for people with celiac disease. Since the regular pizza dough is made with gluten, it's probable that the gluten-free dough will become contaminated with gluten -- they are both made in the same area of each facility. The chain recommends the new GF pizza for consumers with a gluten-sensitivity or those who are following a gluten-free diet for other health reasons that are not related to celiac disease.

Domino's GF claim is dangerous

Even though Domino's has a disclaimer that their new gluten-free pizza is not for people with celiac disease, there may be people who aren't aware of the disclaimer and eat it anyway. And, really, how can someone with gluten-sensitivity know if the Domino's GF pizza is going to have negative impacts on their health until they eat it? A recent article from Nation's Restaurant News (NRN) reports that the pizza chain is under fire from experts who specialize in celiac disease. According to the article, the North American Society for the Study of Celiac Disease, or NASSCD, said that Domino's use of the term gluten-free is exploitation and a total disservice to those most at risk. In a perfect world, a food labeled "gluten-free" would be truly "gluten-free" so there is no question about it's safety for people with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity.

When gluten-free really is gluten-free

The only way a product or food can be accurately labeled as "gluten-free" is when it is made in a gluten-free facility with gluten-free ingredients and has no contact with any gluten ingredients or cookware (including ovens, toasters, etc.) or utensils that have been exposed to gluten ingredients. To help educate restaurants on celiac disease and gluten-free cooking, the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA), has developed a credential and training program. Stay tuned for more restaurants to offer truly gluten-free menu options. In the meantime, if you've got celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity, it's best to forgo gluten-free delivery from Domino's.

More vegan news you can use!
Recommended for You
Comments
Hot
New in Food & Recipes
Close

And you'll see personalized content just for you whenever you click the My Feed .

SheKnows is making some changes!