SECTIONS
What would you like to know?
Share this Story
/

16 YA books everyone will be reading this fall

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Can’t figure out what YA book to read next? You're in luck: We rounded up our favorite books to fulfill your YA craving for September.

A Blind Spot for Boys by Justina Chen

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Shana Wilde, 16, is officially giving up on boys for a while. After a devastating breakup, she decides it's time to take a break from the endless encounters with Mr. Wrong — that is, until she meets Quattro, an undeniably cute lacrosse player. Just as Shana is about to rethink her ban on boys, she discovers her dad is going blind. In a desperate attempt to make the most of her father's time left with his sight, she and her family travel to Machu Picchu, but Shana can't even escape her boy troubles in a different country.

Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

We are all for this novel about strong female characters being recruited into an all-male military school. Of course, things are not easy for Sam McKenna as one of the first ladies on campus. Things get even more complicated when Sam discovers an old secret society within the school that is still very much active and very much set on getting rid of her.

Play Me Backwards by Adam Selzer

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Things have been all downhill for Leon since middle school. Now the resident slacker, Leon is determined to get his life together when news surfaces that the love of his life (aka his middle school girlfriend) Anna is returning to town. Leon enlists the help of his best friend Stan to complete his transformation. But, as Stan doles out the tasks, Leon becomes suspicious of his friend's true motivations. He probably shouldn't have promised Stan his soul.

Queen of Hearts Volume 2: The Wonder by Colleen Oakes

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Volume 2 of the best-selling and award-winning Queen of Hearts saga is finally here. This is Wicked, Alice in Wonderland-style. The story follows Dinah on her downward spiral to the Queen of Hearts, but when the story picks up in this sequel, she's just a girl who is lost and alone. Coupled with her struggle against the King's army of Cards, Dinah battles against her growing rage for the wrongs that have been done to her. This is a fairy tale that doesn't have a happy ending.

Mary: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Everyone has heard of Bloody Mary, but what happens when four teens actually summon her? Jess had done all the research. You need a dark room, a mirror, a candle, salt and four teenage girls linking hands and never letting go. When the summoning circle is broken, Bloody Mary slips through the glass with one thing in mind: revenge. The girls' fight to send Mary back to the other side will lead them to discover her haunting legacy — but is it too late?

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

This is a typical love story, but told in an exceptionally unique way. See Lea and Gabe's love story unfold from 14 different viewpoints that will have you rooting for this sweet couple the whole way through. Can these two make it work in the end? Find out in Sandy Hall's endearing debut novel.

Rebels by Jill Williamson

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

The final book in the Safe Lands trilogy, Rebels opens with a fight. Glenrock may have been scattered but they aren't finished just yet. Mason and Omar are determined to expose the Safe Lands and they have discovered the true meaning of Liberation that might be the key to their success. The two lead the rebels on a quest to finally overthrow the government. But failure means death.

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Popular mean girl Liz Emerson decides to end her own life. The book opens as she steers her car into a tree. Her motivations unfold from there through a series of flashbacks. While Liz's friends and family wait at the hospital while Liz's life hangs in the balance, the pieces of her story begin to fit together. Narrated by a surprising character, this haunting and heartbreaking story will show Liz's journey to understand the physics of life.

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Get ready for a swoon-worthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins' popular series. Isla has had a crush on Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris, but after a chance encounter, romance finally blooms. Of course, relationships are never as easy as fairy tales. When their senior year begins, Isla and Josh are forced to face the challenge of an uncertain future with college just on the horizon.

No One Needs to Know by Amanda Grace

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Olivia and her twin brother Liam used to be close — until Liam started dating, that is. In her attempt to regain their connection, Olivia does whatever she can to get rid of Liam's string of girlfriends, until Zoey. At first, the two girls don't get along at all. Zoey sees right through Olivia's games, but their relationship evolves from fighting into something that is surprisingly intimate. But Zoey is with Liam, and he's falling hard for her, which means one of the twins is going to get his or her heart broken.

Destined for Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

In the much-anticipated sequel to Doon comes Destined for Doon, a story of choices, love and bravery. Mackenna Reid realizes that she has made a horrible decision, leaving the enchanted land of Doon to pursue her dream of Broadway. And then she discovers that she and Duncan are each other's one true love. When Mackenna learns that an ancient cure is threatening to take over Doon, she doesn't have to think twice about returning. Will Mackenna be able to win the battle against the world of nightmares, save her beloved kingdom and salvage her happily ever after, all at the same time?

Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

If life were fair, Jam Gallahue would still be at home in New Jersey with her adorable British boyfriend, watching old comedy sketches and kissing him in the library. She wouldn't be at The Wooden Barn, a therapeutic boarding school in rural Vermont. But life isn't fair, and Jam's boyfriend is dead. A journal-writing assignment restores Jam's untainted past — but there are hidden truths on her path to reclaim her loss.

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned" by Lena Dunham

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Readers of Tina Fey, Nora Ephron and David Sedaris will love this hilarious, quirky and extremely honest collection of essays from Lena Dunham, the creator, producer and star of HBO's Girls. Though it isn't exactly young adult, it is about a young woman making her way in the world, and it's perfect for any of us who are coming of age.

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

This is the second book in Yancey's post-apocalyptic series, which began with the novel The 5th Wave. Cassie Sullivan survived the first four waves of attacks, against all odds, and now the fifth is rolling across the landscape. The Others are set on ridding Earth of humans by extinguishing their humanity. Can humans rise to the occasion, or is it the end of life as Cassie once knew it?

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Ceony Twill is not happy about being chosen as the apprentice to paper magician Emery Thane. As the No. 1 student at Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, Ceony believes she deserves a better position than the dull, archaic art of paper-folding magic. But the adventure that lies ahead is bigger than she ever could have imagined. When Emery's heart is ripped out by the evil Excisioner, Ceony must embark on a dangerous quest to save her teacher's life.

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

We rounded up our favorite YA books for September, and you won't want to miss these

Violet has been trained for years as a surrogate for royalty — but she's less like a surrogate and more like a slave. When Violet is purchased by one of the most powerful women in The Jewel, she discovers the politics and betrayal that lie underneath the surface in the world of the wealthy. She'll have to learn quickly how to navigate these waters, or she'll pay the ultimate price. The Jewel is the perfect book for fans of Wither and The Selection series.

Comments
Hot
New in Entertainment
Close

And you'll see personalized content just for you whenever you click the My Feed .

SheKnows is making some changes!