Someone To Believe In

Need a new cowboy to sizzle in your playlist? Scotty McCreery may be just what you're looking for, especially after hearing his latest song.

Scotty McCreeryOuch.

And "ouch" in a good way.

This American Idol alum's vocals are husky and laden with a Southern charm. He's so good, it hurts.

American Idol is out for a comeback in a whole new way with new judges in tow >>

But yeah, I was surprised this was the same kid (he's 20 years old now) that won the talent competition in 2011. That seems forever ago, and I am pretty sure he couldn't grow facial hair then.

So now here I am, embarrassed for lusting after this child and surprised that his latest song, "Now" is scorching hot. I first saw him perform on the Oct. 25 viewing of The Tonight Show With Jay Leno, and I'll tell you, I had to do a double take.

Obviously, McCreery had to be good enough to win, but I don't remember him being this good. So I will assume it's the song that could be holding most of the responsibility. It's at the crossroads of where dangerously sexy rock meets impassioned country, and it's a delicious concoction that you will be scrambling to iTunes for.

Need music updates on a regular basis? Why not sign up for our newsletter? >>

Taste of Country describes it as infectious, and you will want to shield your ears from it if you don't want to sing the same song for the next few days. But I am going to bet curiosity will get the best of you momentarily and you will find a way to listen.

Everyone's favorite American Idol winner just got married >> 

Summer may be long over, but that doesn't mean we all don't have an excuse to party, right? Make sure you bring the hard cider and McCreery's new track to the next gathering. You'll likely be the "cool" guy/gal with the phenomenal music taste.

Oh, and dear Scotty McCreery, if you ever read this, let me tell you — you are setting the bar high now.

Readers, what are your thoughts? Is this song largely overhyped, or are you finding it as irresistible as I am?

Photo credit: Judy Eddy/WENN.com

More music reviews:

Demi Lovato "Let It Go"
Taylor Swift "Sweeter Than Fiction"
Akon "So Blue"

2013 CMA Awards banner

Tags:

Recommended for you

Comments

Comments on "Music review: Scotty McCreery "Now""

KN October 31, 2013 | 11:37 AM

I saw Scotty on Leno and he was amazing! I love his new album. It has so many great songs! I literally am wearing it out listening to it! It is the first album I have bought where I listen to every song! There is not a song I want to skip over and that is saying something! It is very different from his first album and is really a big step up! Way to go Scotty!!

Bobbi October 30, 2013 | 9:45 PM

Sorry. I love Scotty to pieces, but I don't hear it. I found it boring.

John October 30, 2013 | 8:10 PM

There are so many #1's on this album it will be around for a long time. What a shame our country fans wont get to hear any of them on CMA Awards.

Diana Manton October 30, 2013 | 7:08 PM

It is time that the CMA's wake up and know this kid is here to stay He is in heavy demand and his Concerts sell out almost immediately the new Cd SEE YOU Tonight is so good he has several Singles out of this CD that will Go Far thank you to SCotty and Frank Rogers for working so Hard on this Album it is just the Best and all the Radio Stations need to wake up and start playing these songs

Diana Manton October 30, 2013 | 7:05 PM

Scotty is just the very Best he is always Terriffic I have seen him in 2 Concerts and met him once he has so much Talent it is just Amazing

Mary October 30, 2013 | 5:37 PM

This is the best CD I have in my collection. Scotty sings every song beautifully and with his whole heart. The emotion flows with Forget to Forget You and Feel Good Summer song.

Roseann October 30, 2013 | 4:32 PM

I've read many great reviews of Scottys' new CD, "See You Tonight". Also many great reviews of individual songs; but this is one of the coolest reviews EVER!!!! I LOVE the writers style. Laughed at the "lusting after this child" part! The entire CD is so well performed; Scottys' voice is amazing!!! So many diverse sounds!!! Thanks for an awesome review!!!

Lisa Sullivan October 30, 2013 | 2:04 PM

The MOMENT I heard "Now" I thought - boy, this one is gonna be a HIT! I've been jammin' to it ever since I received my pre-ordered signed CD. I even know the lyrics & melody by heart. ;) Scotty is and has been one to watch since...Clayton Idol 2009, actually. Ask anyone who was there and they'll tell you their reaction then was "this kid is going places". He did. He continues to. All of us McCreerians are very proud of Scotty and all that he has accomplished so far, but this album...it's gonna catapult him FAR upward, beyond anywhere he's been yet. You just wait and see!

Ann October 30, 2013 | 2:03 PM

NOW is a great song but every other song on his new cd is too! What a voice and fine young man. His concerts are wonderful too-high energy and just fantastic. Thanks for the nice review.

Jeanne October 30, 2013 | 2:03 PM

It is an awesome song. I have it on repeat and he co-wrote it along with 4 other tracks on this album. If anyone has not bought this album See You Tonight, they are missing something that is exceptional.

Estie October 30, 2013 | 12:06 PM

Thanks for this excellent write up. All of us who have followed him since his win on American Idol have had the opportunity to watch him mature and grow into a super artist. When I recently saw him perform NOW in person I was blown away. The rest of his new album SEE YOU TONIGHT is phenominal. you can't help being drawn to everything he does. An amazing young man !!!!!

Judy October 30, 2013 | 11:35 AM

Just wanted to mention that Scotty co-wrote "Now" along with 4 other songs on his new album....Amazing Talent!!!!

Judy October 30, 2013 | 11:29 AM

Just wanted to add FYI...Scotty co-wrote this song "Now" along with 4 other songs on his new album. Just an amazing talent!

Cynthia October 30, 2013 | 11:02 AM

What more can I add except prayers. Hope 2014 will be the biggest success for him.

JeanR October 30, 2013 | 9:26 AM

Now is a great song and he does it to perfection. His new CD is a must have...every song on the CD is great and show his versatility and talent. A great voice/great singer/great performer.

Nancylee October 30, 2013 | 9:15 AM

On my last post, I meant to say he was "y" hot. Also, forgot to mention his new song is awsome, as is his CD. If you haven't yet purchased it, you're missing out on some great music. One of the few CD's where I have enjoyed every song.

Loretta October 30, 2013 | 8:55 AM

Now is really a rocking song. You haven't heard anything yet!!! Listen to all the songs on the new album. You will be blown away. Hear Carolina Moon with Alison Krause, WOW. Be sure to get the Wal Mart edition that has all 18 songs on it. You sure don't want to miss hearing Carolina Eyes, Sun Tan, and This is That Night! Scotty is a super star and will just keep getting better and better. There is something about every song on the album that just amazes me. It is hard to believe that several radio station DJs still refuse to play his music.

Judy October 30, 2013 | 8:52 AM

Thanks for the great review of "Now". This is just one of the awesome songs on his new album "See You Tonight". Scotty is growing by leaps and bounds on this album!! Those of you who have not heard this new music, go to iTunes and take a listen....I promise you won't be disappointed. Also, if you get a chance to check out the YouTube videos of Scotty's NC State Fair concerts, please do so. His vocals and showmanship are amazing!!

Dot October 30, 2013 | 8:45 AM

A great review-Scotty's new album is so great, his voice is awesome, will buy everything he records.

Mary October 30, 2013 | 8:21 AM

Yes he just keeps getting better!! Now is a great song and it gets his concert off to a rocking start. If you like Now you really need to check out the whole album it is truly amazing!!! So different from his first album, he is really growing up and his new music shows it!!! If you have a chance to go to one of his concerts... Do It.... believe me you will not be sorry you did!!!!

+ Add Comment


(required - not published)