NaBloPoMo June 2013 Prompts

4 years ago

If you're participating in NaBloPoMo in June -- or even if you're not! -- here are some prompts to get you going. Writing prompts are posted at the beginning of the month so you can plan ahead, Monday to Friday (weekends are for free-writing!).

Monday, June 3, 2013
How many generations can you go back in your family?  What do you know about your oldest ancestors?

Tuesday, June 4, 2013
Go back three generations and tell us about where your family lived.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013
Are you interested in genealogy?  Do you have a family tree constructed?

Thursday, June 6, 2013
Are you named after someone on your family tree?  Tell us about that person.

Friday, June 7, 2013
Tell us a story from your family history.

Monday, June 10, 2013
Tell us about a tradition passed through your family.

Tuesday, June 11, 2013
How much does your culture come into play in your day-to-day life?

Wednesday, June 12, 2013
What does getting back to your roots look like to you?

Thursday, June 13, 2013
How important do you believe it is for a person to know their roots?

Friday, June 14, 2013
If your family has moved over time, have you ever traveled to the place your ancestors lived?

Monday, June 17, 2013
The original quote about giving children roots and wings referred to the "roots of responsibility and the wings of independence." Does that change your understanding of the quote?

Tuesday, June 18, 2013
Dolly Parton said: "Storms make trees take deeper roots." Agree or disagree?

Wednesday, June 19, 2013
Harry S. Truman said: "Most of the problems a President has to face have their roots in the past." Discuss.

Thursday, June 20, 2013
How often to you look at the root of a word to make sure you're choosing the correct one?

Friday, June 21, 2013
Alex Haley said: "My fondest hope is that 'Roots' may start black, white, brown, red, yellow people digging back for their own roots. Man, that would make me feel 90 feet tall." Have you helped him achieve that height?

Monday, June 24, 2013
Are you proud of your roots? Why or why not?

Tuesday, June 25, 2013
How much does the food you eat reflect your roots?

Wednesday, June 26, 2013
What are your favourite family dishes?

Thursday, June 27, 2013
Do you like to stay in one place for a long period of time, or do you like to move around?

Friday, June 28, 2013
Are you still living in the town where you were born? Tell us about why you did or didn't move.

Melissa writes Stirrup Queens and Lost and Found. Her novel about blogging is Life from Scratch.

This is an article written by a member of the SheKnows Community. The SheKnows editorial team has not edited, vetted or endorsed the content of this post. Want to join our amazing community and share your own story? Sign up here.
comments

More from living

Living
by Sara Lindberg | 11 hours ago
Living
by SheKnows Shop | 20 hours ago
Living
by Fairygodboss | a day ago
Living
by Ashley Papa | 3 days ago
Living
by Jessica Drake | 4 days ago
Living
by Kristen Fischer | 9 days ago
Living
by Fairygodboss | 10 days ago
Living
by Fairygodboss | 16 days ago
Living
by Kristen Bousquet | 19 days ago
Living
by Kristen Bousquet | 20 days ago
Living
by Hannah Hickok | 20 days ago
Living
by STYLECASTER | 22 days ago