BlogHer Writing Lab May 2016 Prompts

2 years ago

The theme for May's NaBloPoMo is SNAPSHOT. If you're participating in NaBloPoMo in May -- or even if you're not! -- here are some prompts to get you going. Writing prompts are posted at the beginning of the month so you can plan ahead, Monday to Friday. (Weekends are for free-writing!)

This month has a visual theme. You can choose to post just the picture, just the story, or do a combination of both.

Monday, May 2, 2016
Open a storage box and snap a picture of one item in the box. Tell us why you saved that item if you also write a post.

Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Take a picture of the oldest item in your home. Tell us its story if you write a post, too.

Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Show us your favourite, old sweatshirt. Tell us how or where you got it.

Thursday, May 5, 2016
Do you ever keep old, broken items? Why? Take a photo of one.

Friday, May 6, 2016
Who is the oldest person you personally know? Tell us about him/her.

Monday, May 9, 2016
Show us your baby photo. Which features still look the same today?

Tuesday, May 10, 2016
What was your most recent purchase? Show us a picture and tell us the story.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016
What is something you recently replaced in your home? How do you feel about the new item?

Thursday, May 12, 2016
Show us a picture of your most recently-made friendship. How did you meet?

Friday, May 13, 2016
What is a new word you learned recently? Can you take a photo to convey the definition?

Monday, May 16, 2016
What was the last thing your borrowed? If you still have it, snap a picture.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016
What is something you'll never lend out to a friend? Explain why it is so important to you.

Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Borrow someone's photography style and try to take a picture in the same way as homage.

Thursday, May 19, 2016
Whose fashion style would you love to borrow for an event? Can you show us a picture of clothing you covet?

Friday, May 20, 2016
Do you use the library? Snap a photo of a book you're reading now, or go to the library and take an interesting photo.

Monday, May 23, 2016
Where do you like to go when you're blue? Can you show us a picture of the space?

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Snap a picture of an item in your favourite shade of blue.

Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Have you ever taken the perfect picture of the sky? Show us the image.

Thursday, May 26, 2016
Show us your favourite pair of blue jeans. What is their story?

Friday, May 27, 2016
Have you ever regretted not taking a snapshot? Tell us about the picture that got away.

Monday, May 30, 2016
Do you use a photo as a screen saver or lock screen image on your phone? What is the photo?

Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Tell us about your favourite snapshot of all time.

Melissa writes Stirrup Queens and Lost and Found. Her novel about blogging is Life from Scratch.

More from living

Living
by Fairygodboss | in 3 hours
Living
by Colleen Stinchcombe | 21 hours ago
Living
by Debbie Wolfe | 3 days ago
Living
by Kristine Cannon | 8 days ago
Living
by Kristine Cannon | 16 days ago
Living
by Bethany Ramos | 16 days ago
Living
by Ashley Papa | 21 days ago
Living
by Colleen Stinchcombe | 24 days ago
Living
by Aly Walansky | 24 days ago
Living
by Colleen Stinchcombe | a month ago
Living
by Fairygodboss | a month ago
Living
by Sarah Brooks | a month ago