BlogHer Writing Lab December 2015 Prompts

a year ago

The theme for December's BlogHer Writing Lab is TRADITION. Here are some prompts to get you going if you're participating in the BlogHer Writing Lab in December. Writing prompts are posted at the beginning of the month so you can plan ahead, Monday to Friday. (Weekends are for free-writing!)


Tuesday, December 1, 2015
What traditions do you look forward to at the end of the year?

Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Do you decorate for the winter holidays? Tell us about your decorations.

Thursday, December 3, 2015
If you have children, what traditions are you trying to instill in them? If you don't have children, what is a tradition someone passed along to you?

Friday, December 4, 2015
How difficult is it to start a new tradition?

Monday, December 7, 2015
What dish transports you to a different place and time in your life?

Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Finish this sentence with your favourite food: "The holidays are not complete without..."

Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Teach us how to make your favourite holiday recipe.

Thursday, December 10, 2015
What food do you always reject on the holiday table? Why?

Friday, December 11, 2015
What is your favourite holiday candy?

Monday, December 14, 2015
Do you start your day the same way every day? What are your morning traditions?

Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Do you end your day the same way every day? What are your nighttime traditions?

Wednesday, December 16, 2015
What is the most important step in your routine to start your day right?

Thursday, December 17, 2015
Do you ever take steps the day before to ensure the next day is good?

Friday, December 18, 2015
Take one of your daily traditions and teach it to everyone else to improve their life.

Monday, December 21, 2015
If you celebrate Christmas, what is your gift-opening tradition? If you don't celebrate Christmas, do you have a favourite way to open gifts on other holidays or your birthday?

Tuesday, December 22, 2015
If you celebrate Christmas this week, tell us about your Christmas traditions. If you don't celebrate Christmas, what do you like to do when everything is closed?

Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Do you like snow or do you dread when it starts falling? If you don't have snow in your area, what weather do you love or dread?

Thursday, December 24, 2015
If you celebrate Christmas, do you put out anything for Santa? If you don't celebrate Christmas, tell us about your favourite treat you like to receive.

Friday, December 25, 2015
Tell us the best thing about your family and friends.

Monday, December 28, 2015
Have you set a resolution for New Years? What is it?

Tuesday, December 29, 2015
How long do you usually stick to your resolutions? Is there something that helps make you stick to them longer?

Wednesday, December 30, 2015
Why do you think we have the tradition of trying to change ourselves at the start of the year?

Thursday, December 31, 2015
What is one thing you learned about yourself this month by examining your traditions?

Melissa writes Stirrup Queens and Lost and Found. Her novel about blogging is Life from Scratch.

This is an article written by a member of the SheKnows Community. The SheKnows editorial team has not edited, vetted or endorsed the content of this post. Want to join our amazing community and share your own story? Sign up here.
comments

More from living

Living
by Fairygodboss | a day ago
Living
by Fairygodboss | 6 days ago
Living
by Justina Huddleston | 6 days ago
Living
by Aly Walansky | 7 days ago
Living
by Fairygodboss | 8 days ago
Living
by Justina Huddleston | 11 days ago
Living
by Aly Walansky | 21 days ago
Living
by Fairygodboss | 25 days ago
Living
by Justina Huddleston | 25 days ago
Living
by Whitney Coy | a month ago
Living
by Hannah Hickok | a month ago
Living
by Lisa Fogarty | a month ago