The Big “10″ – Get to Know Your Planets!

5 years ago

Yes, there are only 8 “planets” (I still keep Pluto on the list even though it was reclassified as a “dwarf” in 2006), but the 2 luminaries – Sun and Moon – are always included when discussing Astrology.

Planets are the spark plugs in an Astrology chart. They each have a job to do as they energize the many facets of an individual’s personality and life. In addition, a planet is said to have “rulership” of a particular sign (it will be at its happiest and most potent energy when transiting there – fully expressed).

Image courtesy of Shuttestock

The Planets are listed below along with their Zodiac sign rulerships and duties:

Sun– Leo: Life force, self expression

Moon- Cancer: Emotions, sub conscious, nurturing

Mercury- Gemini and Virgo: Communication (makes sense that when Mercury goes retrograde, we need to watch what we say and write). Analytical details

Venus-Taurus and Libra: Love, beauty and how we view/value ourselves and money

Mars- Aries: Action, conflict, sexuality

Jupiter- Sagittarius: Expansion, recreation, philosophy

Saturn- Capricorn:  Discipline, boundaries

Uranus- Aquarius: Change, the unconventional

Neptune- Pisces: Spirituality, dreams, illusion

Pluto- Scorpio: Unconscious, breaking down and rebuilding

The location of a planet in a birth chart – its House placement, its Astrology Sign – can influence how we act/respond in particular areas of our lives as they transit and move around our chart today.

This is an article written by one of the incredible members of the SheKnows Community. The SheKnows editorial team has not edited, vetted or endorsed the content of this post. Want to join our amazing community and share your own story? Sign up here.

More from entertainment

by Jessica Hickam
| 14 minutes ago
by Allie Gemmill
| 8 hours ago
by Madeleine Somerville
| 20 hours ago
by Christina Marfice
| a day ago
by Stephanie Gustafson
| 2 days ago
by Christina Marfice
| 2 days ago